top of page

Phi - Philippos Papathanos

Group Leader

p.papathanos@mail.huji.ac.il

IMG-20230506-WA0031.jpg

Yael Arien 

Staff Scientist

yael.catz@mail.huji.ac.il 

DSC_6490.JPG

Doron Zaada

PhD Student

doron.zaada@mail.huji.ac.il

IMG_1728_edited.jpg

Ebrima SM Kolley

PhD Student

ebrima-sm.kolley@mail.huji.ac.il

DSC_6495.JPG

Elad Yonah

MSc Student

elad.yonah@mail.huji.ac.il 

DSC_6500.JPG

Vytautas Mackevičius

PhD Student

vytautas.mackevicius@mail.huji.ac.il

IMG_20200114_121302.jpg

Itain Fein

MSc Student

itai.fein@mail.huji.ac.il

Lee Lamdan

PhD Student

lee.lamdan@mail.huji.ac.il 

Dor Perets

PhD Student (with J. Bohbot)

dorperets115@gmail.com

20211102_141133.jpg

Arad Sarig

MSc Student

arad.sarig@mail.huji.ac.il

Daniella Haber

MSc Student

daniella.haber@mail.huji.ac.il

297.jpg

Inbal Polin

Phd Student (with Asaf Levy)

inbal.pollin@mail.huji.ac.il

WhatsApp Image 2022-05-22 at 15.23.24 (1).jpeg

Neta Levine

 Insectory Technician/Manager

neta.levine@mail.huji.ac.il

Albert Nazarov

MSc Student (with

Gur Pines)

albert.nazarov@mail.huji.ac.il

image (33).png

Or Toren

MSc Student

or.toren@mail.huji.ac.il

20211027_092315.jpg

Guy Ostrovsky

MSc Student

guy.ostrovsky@mail.huji.ac.il

image_from_ios_720.jpg

Denys Gildman

Undergraduate

denys.gildman@mail.huji.ac.il

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-10 at 13.55.28.jpeg

Chen Zecharia

Undergraduate

chen.zecharia@mail.huji.ac.il 

20190322_125918.jpg

Sarit Fine 

Admin Lab Manager

sarit.fine@mail.huji.ac.il

Screen Shot 2018-04-20 at 12.51.53 PM.png

Shira Kehat 

Undergraduate

Screen Shot 2018-04-20 at 12.51.53 PM.png

Gleb Ans 

Undergraduate

Alumni

For web siteB.jpg

Moshe Elbaz, PhD (2020-2021)

Staff Scientist


Moshe joined the lab and spearheaded our genetic engineering efforts in Drosophila fly research. Moshe is also to thank for endless hours managing the recent expansion of insect rearing and engineering capacity. 

elbazmoshe7@gmail.com

Chen Goh (Summer 2019)

Visiting Research Intern


Chen joined the group as a summer intern from Imperial College London. He focused his 10 weeks in the lab on the development of new genomics data for Ae. albopictus, the Asian Tiger Mosquito. He developed custom pipelines to assemble and quantify gene expression through mosquito development and compile it into a mosquito atlas. He left us to return to his final year in Imperial College London, and then - sky is the limit!

DSC_6485.JPG

Yehonaton Alcalay PhD (2018-2022)

Staff Scientist


Yoni was the first staff member recruited to the Papathanos group. Initially a Lab Manager, he was instrumental in physically setting up the lab, writing grants,, recruiting and training students, establishing protocols, alongside running his independent research. He was then promoted to Staff Scientist and led the Anopheles project in the group. Yoni is now working as Head of R&D at BugEra, an Israeli-based Insect Biotechnology company which specializes in genetic engineering of the Black Solider Fly.

Rotem Avraham

MSc Student

Rotem's MSc research focused on the development of mosquito gene drives and more specifically on the characterization of sex specific gene expression during mosquito development using developmentally staged pooled RNAseq samples.

DSC_6493.JPG

Flavia Krsticevic

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Flavia was the senior bioinformatician of the lab from 2019-2023 being involved in most active projects or collaborations during this time. Her research interests and projects were varied but were mainly revolving around unscrambling Y-chromosome gemomics data from many species.

flavia.krsticevic@mail.huji.ac.il 

8N5A8115.jpg

Eli Scharlat

Undergraduate

Eli spent 2 years in the lab supporting technically a number of projects in mosquito engineering. Eli also lead the development of a sex-specific alternative splicing module to specifically disrupt the function of native insect gene in females as part of his undergraduate 3rd year research project.

eliezer.scharlat@mail.huji.ac.il

image (32).png

Giorgia d’Angelo

Giorgia joined the lab as an Erasmus exchange student from the Univeristy of Pavia and the labs of Federico Forneris and Paolo Gabrieli (now University of Milan). Giorgia's project focused on the function of newly discovered salivary genes and their role in mosquito blood feeding.

bottom of page